An early pioneer, Dr. Charles Green Caples migrated across the Oregon Trail as a boy. After his marriage to Lucinda McBride, he studied medicine in Portland and passed the examination by the Board of Physicians for his degree. In 1870 he constructed his two story home on the same spot where his father Joseph Caples built his log cabin in 1846. The family lived on this land until 1959, when Dell Caples Houghton, a daughter of Charles and Lucinda Caples and a member of Mount St. Helens Chapter, Oregon State Society Daughters of the American Revolution, willed the house and property to the OSSDAR as a museum.

The Caples House Museum complex occupies a whole city block in the historic locality of Columbia City Oregon.  Here, in 1870, on the banks of the beautiful Columbia River and with a majestic view of Mt. St. Helens, Dr. Charles Green Caples built his two-story home from logs cut near Monticello Washington, now called Longview.  The house was occupied continuously by the Caples family until 1959.

The house contains a parlor, doctor's office, kitchen and pantry, three bedrooms; all with antique furniture. Other buildings include a wash house and tool shed. The old Carriage House has been converted into what is called the Childrens' Attic.  It contains an outstanding display of old dolls, toys, and childrens' items.  There is a collection of miniature dolls representing the First Ladies of the United States of America, dressed in their inaugural gowns—fashioned after the unique collection in the Smithsonian Institute.

Caples House Grounds 

A pioneer Tool Shed contains many old tools and articles that were used in pioneer times.

The Cottage is a new venue for weddings and meetings. Click on link on the sidebar to learn more.

Knapp Memorial Social Center 1925 First Street | Columbia City, OR 97018

Located on the grounds of the Dr. Charles Green Caples House in historic Columbia City, the Knapp Social Center, filled with antiques and overlooking the Columbia River, is a unique and lovely setting for weddings, anniversary celebrations, reunions, and club or business conferences.  Occupying an entire city block, our park-like grounds are ideal for outdoor functions.  With an expansive view of the river, your gathering is further enhanced by vistas of flowers, ancient apple and pear trees that shares the property with the Caples House, which was built in 1870. 

Our large meeting room, paneled in warm woods with its inviting fireplace, will comfortably accommodate your large group and we offer a fully equipped kitchen with the use of dishes, silver, coffee makers, plus tables and chairs. 

There is a small admissions charge to tour the museum complex. Please call the museum for specific information or to inquire about events and venue rentals.

Caples House is owned and maintained by the Oregon State Society of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution. 
Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations or individual DAR chapters. 
© Caples House Museum     All Rights Reserved     Teresa Kasner, Webmaster